Python Forum
Visual Studio Code does not print desired output but only prints "..."
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Visual Studio Code does not print desired output but only prints "..."
Hi all,

I'm a Python rookie (doing an online Python for Beginners course via edX) and I'm struggling with the following.
When I want to execute the below-stated lines of code:

fhand = open("mbox-short.txt")
for line in fhand:
    line = line.rstrip()
    if line.startswith("From: "):
        print(line)
, it prints the following:
Vincents-MacBook-Air-4:PYTHON DATA  STRUCTURES vincentolivers$ /usr/bin/python
Python 2.7.10 (default, Aug 17 2018, 19:45:58) 
[GCC 4.2.1 Compatible Apple LLVM 10.0.0 (clang-1000.0.42)] on darwin
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> fhand = open("mbox-short.txt")
>>> 
>>> for line in fhand:
...     line = line.rstrip()
...     if line.startswith("From: "):
...         print(line)
Any ideas on how to print my desired output instead of "...", i.e. all lines that start with "From: " in the handled text file?

Thanks in advance!!
First - it's recommended to open files with 'with' statement a la with open('mbox-short.txt', 'r') as f:

Second - if you try to enter code in interactive interpreter then you should make sure indentation is correct a la:

>>> for i in range(3):
...     print(i)
>>>
Third - it is not recommended to use Python 2 (for example print is quite different between Python 2 and 3)
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
it looks like you perform "Run Selection/Line in Python Terminal" command (from the mouse right-click menu). In this case it execute your script/selection/current line in python interactive mode line by line
You need to use "Run Python File in Terminal" instead